Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

A conversation with an inhabitant of New York

Publié le par Alexandre ROSSIGNOL et Louis VINCENT

While we were in New-York, we had a conversation with an inhabitant. We asked her some questions.

 

 

Why did you choose to live in New York City?
When I first came to New York City, I immediately fell in love with it. I particularly enjoyed its non-stop activities, which gave me the freedom to arrange my schedule in a very flexible way. Looking for a job was easy too. The opportunities were numerous and I was able to quickly increase my earnings. I enjoyed how people thought and behaved at work. They were altogether ambitious and relaxed—a rare combination.
 
 
Why do you still live in New York City?
New York City is very resilient and bounces back quickly from trouble (9/11, economic crisis, hurricane Sandy, etc.). I love its energy, how people are ready to help each other at the drop of a hat, how moving forward is the only way it knows how to move. And let's not forget its performing arts: from Broadway to Harlem, from Brooklyn to the East Village, anywhere you look, there is a live performance going on. 
 
 
What do you like and dislike about New York City?
As you can see from my answers above, I have much to say about this unique and wonderful city. I will now talk about its parks. Because New York City truly has four seasons, you can watch nature at work all year round. In addition, parks host quite a few animals always ready to greet you: how about those adorable squirrels! I also need to mention the numerous artists who live and exhibit their work here. Anything goes! There is a strong movement of modern and contemporary artwork here. And then, there are poets and writers who invite you to readings around a glass of wine or a cup of coffee… OK, so now what is it I dislike about my darling city? Well, in the past few years, a crop of people have arrived, behaving rudely. They are walking around as if they were in a bubble, not paying attention to their surroundings, slamming doors at you, etc. It may be the social disease of this decade. I hear this behavior is seen throughout the main cities of the world...
 

 

Commenter cet article